Board Members

ERPS Board of Education Members


Valerie VanSandt, President
Valerie VanSandt is a motivated mom, coach, and volunteer for the Eaton Rapids Public School Community. She works as a small business partner at Chickadee Studios of Eaton Rapids, managing budget, production, staff, as well as customer and computer support. She is married and the mother of two daughters in our district.


Email: Valerie VanSandt





Brian Ross, Vice President
Brian Ross is a graduate of Eaton Rapids High School and an Owner/Broker of Ross & Associates Realtors. Mr. Ross is involved in the County Planning Commission, ER Local Development Finance Authority, ER Business and School Alliance, and the ER Area Chamber of Commerce.

Email: Brian Ross






Joseph Loren, Secretary

Joe was elected to serve on the Board of Education beginning in January 2017.  Joe is married and has two children in the Eaton Rapids Public School District.  He retired from the United States Army in September of 2015 and presently works for Eaton Corporation as a Program Manager.


 Email: Joe Loren






Dan Guy, Treasurer

Dan Guy was appointed to the Board in April 2013. He is married to Sallie, they have 2 children that attend Eaton Rapids Public School programs. Dan was born and raised in Eaton Rapids and is currently employed by the Michigan Air National Guard. Dan graduated from Eaton Rapids High School, Park University, and Western Michigan University. As a parent, volunteer, and motivated individual, Dan hopes to be a positive contributor to the Board of Education and the Eaton Rapids Public School District.


 Email: Dan Guy






Jeannine Brake-Norder, Trustee    

Jeannine Brake-Norder was elected to the Board for the term starting in January 2019.  She is married to Phil and has 3 children in the school district.  She graduated from Michigan State University and Ferris State University College of Optometry and worked as a Doctor of Optometry at Eye Care Associates of Charlotte, P.L.L.C.  She has lived in Eaton Rapids for over 20 years.  She has been active in the schools volunteering in the classrooms and working as Vice-President and Grant Committee Chair for the Eaton Rapids Public Schools Education Foundation.  She was an active participant in Mothers of Preschoolers (MOPS) in Eaton Rapids serving as Hospitality and Activities Coordinator and serving on the Steering Team.


Email: Jeannine Brake-Norder





  Jann Jansen, Trustee

Jann JansenJann Jansen was elected to the Board for the term starting in January 2021.  She is a graduate of Central Michigan University with a degree in Elementary and Special Education. She earned her Masters degree in Teaching from Olivet College.  Jann has worked at Eaton Regional Educational Service Agency since 1997, teaching students with special needs. She is married to Scott and has 2 children in the school district.  


Email: Jann Jansen






Steven Curry, Trustee

Steven Curry

Steven Curry was elected to the Board for the term starting in January 2021. He is married to Sarah and has three children in the district. He graduated from the University of Bridgeport, Columbia International University, and Central Michigan University and has served as an educator for over 20 years. His work has enabled him to travel across the country to collaborate with other educational leaders on issues concerning district/school improvement. He is passionate about ensuring each student in Eaton Rapids, regardless of background, receives a high quality education that provides a solid foundation for exceeding personal goals through lifelong learning and positive civic contributions.

Email: Steven Curry